top of page

With ‘American Son,’ actress Andresia Moseley is in her dramatic element

By Bill DeYoung-St Pete Catalyst

March 9, 2021

Granted, there hasn’t been a whole lot of truly live theater in the bay area since last fall, when restrictions started easing up a bit. This weekend, however, Andresia Moseley opens her third show since November – her third emotionally-taut drama in four months.

“I went from doing Twilight: Los Angeles 1992, where I played 27 characters from the tragic L.A. riots, to Doubt, where my son may been molested by a priest,” the actress says, “to playing Kendra in American Son, who is grappling with her Black son and police issues.”

American Son, by Christopher Demos-Brown, finds Kendra Ellis-Connor in a Miami police station, in the middle of the night during a torrential downpour, desperate for information on the whereabouts of her missing teenage son, Jamal.

Like Twilight and Doubt (both performed with Jobsite Theatre), American Son demands Moseley push the dramatic envelope and leave part of herself on the stage, every night.

“I enjoy these sorts of roles because, for me as a performer, the characters are dynamic,” Moseley explains. “So it’s never a linear performance. Every time, I have to go through various layers in order to put the character together. And I enjoy that; that’s the challenge.

“However, I am also human, so after three, four challenges back to back I’ll probably need to take just a short break, and then return. And I’m not talking long – because I can’t stay away from it too long.”


8 views0 comments
bottom of page